Subscribe to our newsletter:
your email address
Sign Up
Search
search topic
MainSession ScheduleSpeakersSponsors & ExhibitorsPhoto GalleryRegistrationSponsor & Exhibitor Registration

April 2016 NRTRC Webinar

Join NRTRC and the Southwest Telehealth Resource Center as Ronald Weinstein, MD, presents a webinar aimed at helping you build a successful telehealth network. Click the link below for more information and to register.

Learn More

Northwest Regional Telehealth Resource Center

Regions Served:
Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming

Your source for confidential, objective answers and valuable insights into Telehealth issues in the Northwest.

NRTRC provides technical assistance, program support, education and information to Telehealth Networks in our seven-state region. Our staff members have strong backgrounds in multiple aspects of Telehealth and access to a wide range of Telehealth experts throughout the United States. Our primary mission is to increase the use of Telehealth service throughout the region, especially to underserved populations. To achieve that goal, we provide no-cost assistance to Telehealth providers. As one of 14 Telehealth Resource Centers in the United States, NRTRC has access to leaders in the industry on a wide range of topics and can help your program grow. Don’t hesitate to contact us for assistance, information or encouragement.

Building Successful Telemedicine, Telehealth, and mHealth Programs: Opportunities and Barriers

April 28th, 2016

Starts: 9am Hawaii, 11am Alaska, 12pm Pacific, 1pm Mountain, 2pm Central, 3pm Eastern
Ends: 10am Hawaii, 12pm Alaska, 1pm Pacific, 2pm Mountain, 3pm Central, 4pm Eastern

Webinar, 1 hour: The practice and delivery of healthcare is changing, with an emphasis on improving quality, safety, efficiency, & access to care. Telemedicine can help you achieve these...

Read More

From the NRTRC Blog:

NRTRC Focus Groups

April 20th, 2016

Join one of our special focus groups designed to help our region tackle the barriers and celebrate the successes in telehealth!
Read More

National Rural Health Day

November 19th, 2015

While my blog is generally slated for Wednesday, I thought it would be OK to delay it until today. You see, today is National Rural Health Day.

National Rural Health Day is a day set aside by the National Organization of State Offices of Rural Health (NOSORH) along with their partners and friends to share information and understanding of the challenges of providing health care to rural patients.

Of course here at NRTRC we believe the answer to expanding care availability to rural folks is telehealth. The NRTRC territory contains the only two Frontier States in the U.S., Alaska and Wyoming. Those states have a population density of less than six people per square mile. Montana just missed the Frontier designation with a count of 6.3 per square mile. And the other four states, Utah, Idaho, Oregon and Washington each have a high percentage of counties with frontier designations. Because of these low population densities, all of our states have a high number of counties designated as Healthcare Provider Shortage Areas (HPSA). With that in mind, it becomes clear how challenging it is to get care to our residents. (I often tease my colleagues from back east who talk about rurality with population densities of a hundred or so per square mile. We in the big, square states know rural!)

And that’s why we say telehealth is the answer. Imagine a rancher who would have to travel six hours to a care facility to see a specialist. Would he or she leave home for a twelve-hour round trip with a ten-minute appointment in the middle? How do we get care to Native Alaskans villages so remote that the nearest road is miles away? No one should have to forego health care because of their location in this day and age of ready communication. Telehealth provides the answer and all 14 TRCs are standing by to provide assistance and encouragement to providers who want to reach out to folks in ‘the country.’
Read More
See All Blog Posts

Hectic Holiday Happenings

December 2nd, 2015

Bob discusses the hectic goings-on at NRTRC.
Read More

Medicaid Ordered to Review Telehealth Availability

November 5th, 2015

CMS just released a rule requiring state Medicaid offices to review access to care for their beneficiaries. The rule specifically requires telehealth to be considered.
Read More

NRTRC Focus Groups

April 20th, 2016

Join one of our special focus groups designed to help our region tackle the barriers and celebrate the successes in telehealth!
Read More

Hectic Holiday Happenings

December 2nd, 2015

Bob discusses the hectic goings-on at NRTRC.
Read More

National Rural Health Day

November 19th, 2015

While my blog is generally slated for Wednesday, I thought it would be OK to delay it until today. You see, today is National Rural Health Day.

National Rural Health Day is a day set aside by the National Organization of State Offices of Rural Health (NOSORH) along with their partners and friends to share information and understanding of the challenges of providing health care to rural patients.

Of course here at NRTRC we believe the answer to expanding care availability to rural folks is telehealth. The NRTRC territory contains the only two Frontier States in the U.S., Alaska and Wyoming. Those states have a population density of less than six people per square mile. Montana just missed the Frontier designation with a count of 6.3 per square mile. And the other four states, Utah, Idaho, Oregon and Washington each have a high percentage of counties with frontier designations. Because of these low population densities, all of our states have a high number of counties designated as Healthcare Provider Shortage Areas (HPSA). With that in mind, it becomes clear how challenging it is to get care to our residents. (I often tease my colleagues from back east who talk about rurality with population densities of a hundred or so per square mile. We in the big, square states know rural!)

And that’s why we say telehealth is the answer. Imagine a rancher who would have to travel six hours to a care facility to see a specialist. Would he or she leave home for a twelve-hour round trip with a ten-minute appointment in the middle? How do we get care to Native Alaskans villages so remote that the nearest road is miles away? No one should have to forego health care because of their location in this day and age of ready communication. Telehealth provides the answer and all 14 TRCs are standing by to provide assistance and encouragement to providers who want to reach out to folks in ‘the country.’
Read More

Medicaid Ordered to Review Telehealth Availability

November 5th, 2015

CMS just released a rule requiring state Medicaid offices to review access to care for their beneficiaries. The rule specifically requires telehealth to be considered.
Read More
See All Blog Posts
Scroll To Top